Alabama’s Ban on Texting While Driving
On August 1, 2012, the state of Alabama joined the vast majority of other states in banning the potentially deadly combination of driving and text messaging. According to data provided by the Virginia Tech Transportation Institute, texting while driving creates a crash risk 23 times worse than driving without distraction. The goal of the Alabama law is to keep the driver’s attention on the road at all times.
Details of the Ban
Drivers caught texting while driving can be fined $25 for the first violation, $50 for the second, and $75 for the third and any subsequent violations. A violation also adds two points to a driver’s record.
A driver is allowed to text when contacting emergency services and can use a GPS device without violating the rule.
Reaction to the Ban
More than a year has passed since the ban on driving and texting came into effect in Alabama, and the reactions have been mixed. Some have praised the ban as a success, while others have questioned whether the fines are too small to truly act as an effective deterrent.
A spokesman for the Alabama Highway Patrol explained that the law is not sufficient to completely eliminate the problem and that the best way to prevent distracting driving is for parents to talk with young drivers about the dangers of driving and texting.
If you have been injured by another driver in a car accident and believe that texting may have been a factor, you should contact an experienced Mobile personal injury lawyer to learn your rights. The attorneys at the Law Office of J. Allan Brown, L.L.C. have a wealth of experience with motor vehicle accident cases and can help you obtain just compensation for your injuries.